Welcome to Malton School, A Specialist Science School

Stronger for being one

Information Technology - A-Level

Years 12 ans 13 - A-Level Information Technology

What does the course involve?

The OCR Level 2 Nationals in ICT have been developed to provide candidates with an introduction to the skills, knowledge and understanding required to prepare for work in the information and communication technology sector. They have also been designed to help candidates develop their personal skills in the areas of team working, career planning, communication and problem solving. They accredit candidates’ abilities to carry out a range of tasks and have been designed to accredit candidates’ achievements in a modern, practical way that is relevant to the workplace.

The Course is split into several units, one is mandatory while the others are optional. The mandatory unit combined with two optional units would give the student an equivalent of 2 GCSEs at grades A-C. The units are listed below:

Mandatory unit

  • Unit 1 - ICT Skills for Business

Optional units

  • Unit 2 - Webpage creation
  • Unit 4 - Design and produce multimedia products
  • Unit 5 - Desktop publishing
  • Unit 6 - Spreadsheets – design and use
  • Unit 7 - Databases – design and use
  • Unit 8 - Technological innovation and e-commerce


The National Certificate course is 100% coursework meaning there is no final examination at the end of the year.

Future prospects

The majority of employers are now looking at school leavers ICT qualifications when they apply for jobs. Most employers use Information Technology in some way therefore it is an advantage to have a qualification in ICT upon leaving school or college.