It (Cambridge Technical Level 3 Extended Certificate)


Students will take five units to achieve this qualification. There are three mandatory units that are externally assessed. These are:

– The Fundamentals of IT

– Global information

– Cyber Security

The first two mandatory units provide students with an insight into the IT sector as you investigate the pace of technological change, IT infrastructure, the flow of information on a global scale and important legal and security considerations. The third mandatory unit reflects an important development in the sector around information security and requires learners to consider how data should be protected and the response of the IT sector to emerging threats such as cyber terrorism.

Students must then take two of the four optional units that are centre-assessed and moderated by the exam board. The optional units include:

– Project Management

– Product Development

– Systems Analysis and Design

– The Internet of Everything

All units assist in the development of transferrable skills such as communication and problem solving. The optional units encourage the development of time management, research and analytical skills as well as emphasising the need for good written and verbal communication skills.


There are no formal entry requirements for this qualification, but, ideally, students will typically have studied an IT related subject at GCSE level or be working towards GCSEs at grade C or above including Maths and English.


This qualification is assessed using a combination of:

– External assessment, which is set and marked by the exam board

– Internal assessment, where the teacher assesses the learners’ work and is externally moderated.

Every unit achieved will be graded as Pass, Merit, or Distinction. Students who don’t achieve a Pass in a unit will be unclassified. A learner must get at least a Pass for every unit to be awarded the qualification they have entered for. Qualifications are graded using a Pass, Merit, Distinction, Distinction* (and Unclassified) structure.


This qualification is the same size as one A Level so students will have the flexibility to achieve other qualifications alongside it. They will take units which provide the breadth of knowledge, understanding and skills to prepare them to study in a Higher Education Institution either on a IT related degree course or to support an application for a range of other degree courses. This course carries UCAS points in the same way as a standard A-Level course (e.g.: Distinction* is worth the same as an A* at A-Level).


This, combined with other qualifications, will provide students with the skills, knowledge and understanding to progress into Higher Education on a IT related degree course such as Information Technology, Information Systems and Information Management. It will also allow them to choose non-IT related degree programmes or take them into employment.